Is Using a Fake Identity Card Considered a Crime In Texas?

Texas is taking false identifications very seriously, lying about your age to buy alcohol or carrying a fake ID card for other purposes can get you in trouble. Persons under 21 who have a false ID are risking a conviction for misdemeanor. However, if someone falsifies a legitimate ID or other government document as a means of defrauding or harming another person, he will face a more serious criminal charge, which is punishable by years of imprisonment and a possible fine of thousands of dollars.

Lying on your age

While this may be a common occurrence, especially when young people are away from home for the first time, claiming that you are 21 years of age or older to sell or serve alcohol in Texas is illegal. If you are caught, you will be charged with a class C offense, which is punishable by a fine of up to 500 USD, starting in 2013.

Possessing a false identity card

If you are under 21 and have a fake ID, such as a fake driver's license, in order to introduce yourself as an older person, you are breaking the law in Texas. The state considers false identification as such that is deceptively similar or identical to the identification issued by the government so that a reasonable person would assume that it was issued by a government agency. If the ID is identified as false, it can be confiscated and you can be convicted of a class C offense. If you are in a county or municipality with a community service program, you may also have to perform several hours of community service and pay a fine.

Bribe a government register

If, instead of wearing a false identity card, you decide to alter or falsely include false information about a legitimate government record with the intention of defrauding or harming another, this is a second degree crime under Texas law. If the falsified document is a license, certificate, seal or similar document issued by a state or government agency, it is a third-degree crime. As early as 2013, a second-degree crime is punishable by imprisonment for at least two years instead of 20 years; a fine can also be assessed up to 10,000 USD. A third-degree crime carries a sentence of two to 10 years in prison and a possible fine of up to 10,000 USD.

Sell, distribute or deliver a fake ID

If you own a false identity card with intent to sell, distribute or deliver, and no identity is issued by an authorized body under the United States, you may be convicted of a class A offense. On the other hand, if you manufacture fake IDs with the intention of selling, distributing or delivering, you will be convicted of a third degree crime instead. From 2013 in Texas, this class of an offense is punishable with imprisonment for up to a year, a fine of up to 4,000 USD, or both. As with the falsification of a government record, a third degree conviction crime would result in a prison term of between two and 10 years and a possible fine up to 10,000 USD.